More stories from people suffering from Anal abscesses/fistulas

Another visitor has posted his story.

12 Responses to “More stories from people suffering from Anal abscesses/fistulas”


  1. 1 Joe d February 20, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Get Help! from a Colorectal Surgeon Member of CSA ( Colorectal Surgeons Of America) Fistulas don’t heal,they need surgery and the sooner the better. Find a good Colorectal surgeon,do a background check online. If the doctors office is busy and the staff is profesional you know he is a good physician. A PCP or regular MD doctor is not satisfactory for treating this delicate condition. I have found out since having this condition that many people suffer horribly and don’t know what to do and usually do nothing which can only lead I think, to cancer or worse. Farah Fawcett died of a similar condition and Im sure with her rescources it was because she did nothing or waited too late.
    Fistulas are like a tunnel or vein that develop and are full of pus and whenever they feel like busting they do,the pus spills into your bloodstream and you feel like you are getting the flu,in a few days after your body counteracts the pus, you feel better,you think its over,but its not,it will happen again sometimes weeks or months later,thats why people think herbal remedys,creams and such work but they don’t ,its just the fistlula hasn’t busted again but it will. The surgeon should give you a Colonoscopy to see if there are any other problems with your colon that can be remedied while the Fistulotomy is performed, I had a few polyps which were causing some minor bleeding in stool ocassionally, most people do.Polyps removed no further bleeding biopsy was non noncancerous. Surgeon should then do an ultrasound of the rectum to find path or map out the fistula some are small, others like mine was long and deep into the Sphincter muscle which controls the continence of your bowels. First surgery the surgeon cut open about 80 percent of the fistula which mostly was outside the rectum and out into my buttcheek that cut was about 3 inches long.The surgery is like cutting open a vein,once the fistula is cut open then it just heals like a cut on the outside of your skin. Take your pain pills because this hurts and Vicodan is the only thing that cuts the pain and helps you get thru this.He also installed a cutting seton,(look it up). Basically a rubberband that is poked through the sphincter muscle where fistula is located and is looped around fistula,rubberband extends out of your rectum about 6 inches and is tied off and tightened occasionnally during bimonthly visits to Surgeon,take your pain pills and use a numbing antiseptic ointment (Foille Sunburn Ointment)on the cut,the seton has to be in there about 3 months depending on depth of fistula. That rubberband is cutting through your sphincter muscle 24 hours a day,everytime you move or sit it tightens up and cuts through the muscle allowing the fistula to be opened up to heal while allowing the Sphincter muscle to regenerate and thereby not causing you bowel incontinence.How Brilliant!! Thank God for my Surgeon!! Anyway after 3 months its great no more pus in my body,no feeling crappy anymore,regaining my strength. Its a long process,get a good surgeon,read about this condition. Hygene is important use Hibiclens to wash your wound once daily at least,use sanitary moist wipes to clean after every bowel movement,apply Neosporin or Foille ointment to cut,always pack with 4X4inch gauze bandage between cheeks ,believe it or not it will feel comforting having that gauze there,because there is a great deal of oozing of pus and matter as the cut heals. No swimming or hot tubs! Diet is important,no beef or pork,no heavy meats or meals. Only Chicken,Fish pasta,rice mashed potatoes soft foods take fiber pills Metamucil and generic stool softeners in order to have soft stools. I have learned that soft stools are key to keeping your colon healthy which means a diet high in fiber and soft foods,steak is good everyonce in a while. Good Luck.

  2. 2 Biffe August 29, 2010 at 4:13 am

    My fistula is superficial and on the outside of my rectum not close to the sphincter I’m on day 3post surgery I’ve sufferd for ayesr and a half gonna make it soakin ass3x a day n 3 showers also I’m lucky it was superficial I still had a tunnel but it stopped before the anus thank god

  3. 3 InPain July 10, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    In 2009, I had 2 polyps removed my my colon. One was benign, the other a 4cm pre-cancerous polyp. A year later 2 removed. October 2010, 3 tumors removed and emergency ano fistula surgery, they said it was a horse shoe shape around my rectum. June 2011, another emergency ano fistula surgery. After this heals, he has to go back in and do another surgery. The doctor said that he has to do multiple surgeries instead of one major one due to the fact that my fistula is working it’s way deep inside my body. I am horribly depressed, in pain, bills piling up, child support is after me and disability is taking way too long. I will be either homeless or dead before disability is approved, if that even happens.

  4. 4 Marco January 17, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Please keep hope! I know this experience has significant emotional and mental effects as well as physical. In the long-run, it doesn’t help you to allow yourself to get weighed down by this. I will keep you in my prayers. This is not the end of your world, please believe that! 🙂

  5. 5 Red sky May 17, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    I just had perianal abscess surgery. I was looking for healing time and this blog really helped me to understand and be hopeful.
    I had a itchy area near anus, which became a lump in 2 days and I got really scared, did not see dr, did not want surgery. Home medication only and it did not help. It became bigger and bigger and 6 th day it bursted, I had to see the dr and on 8th day of its first appearance I had a surgery.
    Now it’s over a week, its was pretty big just because I did not see dr on time.
    I am still on bed, no dairy, no salt, no sugar. Lots of veg. I get a packing everyday, antibiotics are for one week only, my next dr appointment is tomorrow. This abcsess left a hole in my bum, which I think will get ok after 3 months, as I gather from this blog. Now am really hopeful that it will be ok.

  6. 6 Valerie February 20, 2013 at 12:35 am

    Thanks for the article. My partner and i have often
    seen that a lot of people are needing to lose weight as they wish to look
    slim along with attractive. On the other hand, they do not often realize that there are
    additional benefits for losing weight additionally.
    Doctors insist that fat people are afflicted with a variety
    of health conditions that can be instantly attributed to their
    own excess weight. The great news is that people who’re overweight along with suffering from diverse diseases can help to eliminate the severity of the illnesses by simply losing weight. You’ll be able to see a continuous but identifiable improvement in health when even a slight amount of losing weight is reached.

  7. 7 Mole Removal Cream September 18, 2013 at 8:30 am

    I lie what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  8. 9 Grey October 9, 2015 at 11:07 pm

    I have been through this im 18 years old

  9. 10 Grey October 9, 2015 at 11:14 pm

    Im 18 femal i have been through this
    Had and abscess which turend in a fistula 20 days of pain that was killing me and fever as well after below movment it was like to dei my eyes with tears my mom and dad also had to safer with me in this pain i had to take injections for pain then i had sergury after 20 days now im pain free thanks to God those days and nights with no sleep were nightmare for me….

  10. 11 Anonymous March 24, 2016 at 4:43 am

    I had an anal fistula and went through 4 and a half years of Hell dealing with it. 3 unsuccessful surgeries Finally the 4th surgery worked Thank God. It’s been 3 yrs now and I constantly Freak out I’m getting another one or it’s come back again. Which I’m thinking it has I’m making an app with the DR. I’m just wondering has anyone had a recurring in the same exact spot?

  11. 12 gayfuck October 20, 2016 at 6:16 pm

    Good way of telling, and good paragraph to take facts regarding my presentation focus, which i am going to deliver in academy.


Leave a Reply

